Denver and Creighton Draw in Extra Time

Photo courtesy of Denver Men’s Soccer

The No. 8 ranked Denver Pioneers travelled to Omaha, Nebraska to face the No. 12 ranked Creighton Bluejays, finishing in a tie following extra time. The storied matchup between two well-respected programs translated onto the pitch, as the two teams battled each one another for 110 minutes.

The Pioneers implemented high pressure from the start of the math as sophomore forward Andre Shinyashiki fired Denver’s first of the night from 22-yards — the shot sailed just wide. Colorado Rapids Academy product, Karsten Hanlin provided a look on net from 25-yards out, aimed too high. Just before halftime, junior, Graham Smith struck the pipe from about 12-yards out.

The Pioneers outshot the Bluejays 7-6 heading into the locker room. Following halftime, each side exchanged early chances off of headers, but both shots were sent wide. Creighton’s midfielder Fabio Rumpler received a yellow card in the 70′ minute, in which Shinyashiki drilled another shot just wide. One minute later, Shinyashiki drew another foul against Peter Prescott who was carded a yellow.

Ten minutes into the second half, Shinyashiki crafted a run inside, but his shot veered wide leaving the score zero apiece. Creighton’s keeper Alex Kapp continued to deny the Pioneers’ who were relentless with shots on frame. Smith almost converted on a corner kick fifteen minutes into the second half, but Creighton’s keeper denied the opportunity.

The Pioneers continued to pressure the Bluejays as junior midfielder Alex Underwood and Shinyashiki both fired unlucky shots on frame.

Extra-time served no additional help as both teams were unlucky in striking the back of the net, resulting in a 0-0 final score. Denver finished the night with a 17-12 shots on goal edge over Creighton.

With tonight’s draw, the Pioneers extend their regular season unbeaten streak to 26 matches and their record is now 7-0-2.

The Pioneers return to CIBER Field on Saturday Sept. 24 to face Indiana University – Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW). Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m.