American Hero Named to US Olympic Team

In what came as little surprise to many local hockey fans, Denver forward Troy Terry was named to the US Olympic squad in PyeongChang, South Korea this winter.

Terry joins other Pioneer Olympic  hockey notables to include Paul Stasny who played in two Olympics (US ’10, ’14) and Kevin Dineen (Canada ’84 & Women’s Hockey Coach ’14) who played and coached at past Olympics. Other hockey players include Bruce Dickson (Canada ’52), Marshall Johnson (Canada, ’64), Stephen Landis US ’72), Ronald Naslund (US ’72), Glenn Anderson ( Canada ’80), Ken Berry (Canada ’80), Richard Brangnolo (Canada ’80), Craig Patrick (US Coach ’84), Craig Redmond (Canada ’84),  Ken Berry (Canada ’88), Derek Mayer (Canada ’94), Craig Patrick (US Coach ’02), and Antti Laaksonen (Finland ’06). More than 40 current and former Pioneers have represented the University of Denver as coaches or participants in skiing.

The PyeongChang Olympics will run from February 9th through February 25th. Terry will likely miss DU’s home and away series against Colorado College (February 16th & 17th) and away at St Cloud (February 24th & 25th). St Cloud will be short defenseman Will Borgen who also made the US squad. Terry and Borgen will be joined by other collegians Ryan Donato (Harvard) and Jordan Greenway (Boston University). Most of the USA roster will be comprised of players who are standouts in European professional leagues and former NHL’ers.

Terry carved a global reputation last year during the World Junior Championships with his heroic shootout 5-hole goals which led the US squad to the World Junior Championship.