University of Denver announces Athletic Director search details

The University of Denver announced Monday that Turnkey Sports has been retained as the executive recruiting firm to identify and screen candidates to replace Peg Bradley-Doppes, Vice Chancellor for Athletics and Recreation. Turnkey specializes in athletic department staff and coaching hires.

The University also announced its own internal selection committee. The committee includes:

Gregg Kvistad (co-chair), Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
John Miller (co-chair), Trustee
Deborah Armstrong, Associate Vice Chancellor for Advancement
KC Gallagher, Trustee
Keith Miller, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Director, Honors Program; Faculty Athletic Representative
Cindi Nagai, Associate Athletic Director for Diversity/SASS/Community Relations/SWA
Jamie Shapiro, Associate Professor, Sport and Performance Psychology Program, Graduate School of Professional Psychology
Cappy Shopneck, Trustee
Kara Taczak, Teaching Associate Professor, Writing Program
Bob Willis, Assistant Vice Chancellor, External Affairs, Diversity & Inclusion, Division of Athletics and Recreation

The trustees on the panel have a rich involvement in Denver Athletics. Most recently, John Miller made a major financial contribution for the completion of the new men’s hockey locker room. As usual, the committee includes faculty representatives Keith Miller, Jamie Shapiro, and Kara Taczak. The administration is represented by Deborah Armstrong. On the athletic department side, Bob Willis and Jamie Shapiro sit on the committee. It’s a somewhat surprising twist that no students or coaches sit on the panel. Bradley-Doppes herself is also not on the panel but one would assume that Turnkey will leverage her expertise for a list of possible candidates.

Turnkey shows testimonials and lists some of their clients on their website including Ole Miss, Rutgers, the Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL), and the Washington Nationals (MLB.

In late August, Peg Bradley-Doppes announced her intention to retire June 30th, 2018.